#29

Remember I double as the Night Manager.

Last night I got a dispatch call to go to a junior high on the edge of town that had no call back number. While I was driving to what was probably going to a burn or none was going to be there and I would have driven across town for nothing. Something that kind of pisses us off. My little brother who is my subordinate beeps me on my radio to let me know he passed a call to the junior high on the edge of town because there was no call back number.

So now I know who to blame when I get burned. I’m on my way to that call. I’m doing my job.

I actually did pick someone up. When we got where we were going she bolted on a $9 fare. When I told this to my little brother I added a very heart felt thank you for passing that call. Yes, I put extra effort into making it sound as genuine and sincere as I could.

A couple hours later he’s pulling up along side of me telling me he has ten bucks for me. I never asked for the money, I never expected the money. I kissed the money goodbye when that little chick got of the car. How the satisfaction of teaching him the lesson that we do not pick and choose our calls by hitting the guilt button was priceless. So in some sick Jewish mother way I kind of enjoyed the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

